Wednesday, 30 August 2017

Book Review: There's Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins


Title: There’s Someone Inside Your House

Author: Stephanie Perkins

Pages: 320

Publication: 5th October 2017 by Pan Macmillan

Reason for Reading: Thank you to the publishers and Netgalley for providing me with an eARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis: Over a year after her parents sent her away from Hawaii to live with her grandmother in landlocked Nebraska, Makani Young is still adjusting to her new life. She's made a small group of close friends and even flirted with romance, but her past in Hawaii is still hard to forget. And then . . . one by one the students of her new high school begin to die in a series of gruesome murders. Makani doesn't know who's next on the list. Between this, and a secret scorching relationship with the school weirdo, this school year may turn out to be one to die for . . . literally. There's Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins will have you swooning with fear and romance, and is the perfect page-turner for fans of Scream Queens and I Know What You Did Last Summer.

TW: heavy violence + gore


Review:

I had heard of Stephanie Perkins before, but I didn’t know she had written the Anna and the French Kiss trilogy, but as soon as I found out it was like a lightbulb going on because it was incredibly obvious that Perkins’ comfort lay with romance. The beginning was gripping and exciting and the murder plot was pretty good, but the rest of the storyline was fairly average - apart from the romance.

The romance between Ollie and Makani was the most well-developed aspect of the story and it was pleasant to read about, it just wasn’t anything particularly exciting. The representation in this book is something I’m glad to see, particularly within this genre: Makani is half-African American and half Native Hawaiian and has a friend who is in the middle of transitioning. Makani’s yearning for her home back in Hawaii really came across and I empathised with her a lot, however she constantly references The Incident that caused her to move to Nebraska and it got incredibly annoying, especially because you don’t discover what happened until quite a way through the book.

Makani has a complicated relationship with her parents, which we don’t really hear much about. We know that they are going through a messy divorce and have essentially shipped her off to her grandmother’s to stop her being such a nuisance but other than that we don’t get much exposure to them. I really felt like this aspect could have been explored a lot more, especially considering how much time was spent on the romantic plot.

The suspense and horror aspect made this a very addictive read, however it fizzled out for me when, only 60% into the book, we discover the killer and it’s all just very anticlimactic. It wasn’t shocking because it wasn’t someone we’d heard much about, and it was revealed it such a way which made me think ‘really? Is that it?’, and I was expecting a big twist where another culprit was found, but there wasn’t. This was probably the bit that disappointed me most, because the murders had been so gory and horrific that it felt a bit of a let-down for the reveal to be sub-par.

Finally, the ending. This was a very dramatic ending which had me turning the pages incredibly quickly and staying up way past my bedtime - I needed to know what would happen. I found it odd though that it just ended. There was all of this drama and then suddenly I was reading the acknowledgements and there was no aftermath, there was no dealing with the events that were so explosive, and I found that a little odd.

In the end, I thought There’s Someone Inside Your House was a definite page-turner with really creepy murders. I think it would make an excellent film adaptation. On the other hand, it was obvious that this was the first book of its kind that Perkins had written and it had some under-developed aspects which dampened the reading experience for me. I wouldn’t say I was disappointed, because I didn’t know what to expect, but I did feel a bit ‘meh’ about it by the end. I’m awarding it 3 out of 5 stars.

If this sounds like your kind of thing, There’s Someone Inside Your House is published in the UK on the 5th October 2017 by Pan Macmillan.